About Us

Michael Jordan

In high school, Michael Jordan was the kind of student that made his peers mad – school came easily, tests came easily, and he could skirt by without a lot of hard work. Despite a lagging work ethic, Michael was a National Merit Scholar and scored 1490 on the SAT and 35 on the ACT, taking each test once without preparation. After a tough choice between Biomedical Engineering and Music Education, Michael attended the University of North Texas on a full-ride scholarship.

In college, Michael was part of the Honors College and graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Music in Music Education. While applying for teaching jobs, he worked part-time as an SAT/ACT tutor at a national tutoring company and part-time at the Target deli. He landed that first teaching job and went on to teach both Junior High and High School concert band, jazz band, and marching band for four years. He left public education in 2013 and returned to SAT/ACT tutoring full-time.

Experience working for two national tutoring companies left him wanting more efficiency and direction for his students and better value for their parents. He began freelance tutoring to give students the one-on-one attention and personalization he knew was necessary to achieve the best outcomes.

A strong focus on connection and personalization contributed to early success. Parents and students called Michael “the coolest smart guy they know,” and his ability to explain things in multiple ways meant “Why didn’t I learn it this way in the first place?” was a frequent phrase in sessions.

Michael’s students surpassed their goals, but more importantly, families appreciated the individual attention, program customization, in-home service, and no-nonsense, no-magic approach Michael brought to test prep. As word spread, a “free-time gig” quickly turned into his life’s passion and full-time career. He founded Direction Tutors, now known as Michael Jordan College Prep, in 2014. Since then, Michael has guided over 500 students to success on standardized tests, mentored some of the most sought-after tutors in DFW, and grown MJ Prep into the premier source of in-home test prep in Dallas.

Michael holds his Texas Teaching Certification and is an Associate Member of the Independent Educational Consultants Association. He takes an ACT each year and has received nothing but perfect scores. In his spare time, Michael enjoys the foodie scene – as a restaurant patron, home chef, and barbeque competitor.

Email Michael

Schedule a Call

Book an Appointment

Tutors

Heather Barry – heather@mjprep.com

Tracy Ross Brassard – tracy@mjprep.com

Brian Bregenzer – brian@mjprep.com

Megan Brewer – megan@mjprep.com

Rachana Gadi – rachana@mjprep.com

Donovan Kelly – donovan@mjprep.com

Jake Theriot – jake@mjprep.com

Kristi Walsh – kristi@mjprep.com

Lulu Wang – lulu@mjprep.com

Witt Womack – witt@mjprep.com